PDA

View Full Version : Help picking out a rod/reel

ctom
07-18-2009, 02:27 PM
I'm looking into buying a baitcasting reel (or getting one for a birthday present) as well as new rod.
I don't need something particularly expensive, but i do want something functional. Basic overview of what I'm looking for:

Reel: Baitcasting. I've never used one before so, if there is one that is easier to use than others that'd be preferable(also tips on baitcasting reels??) Not looking to buy top-of-the-line, but if I'm gonna get one I do need some semblance of quality.

Rod: I'm, again, looking for something not terribly expensive, and i would like a small-ish rod definitely under 6feet, if you can match a rod like that with a baitcaster, I like medium to fast action.

Line: POWERPRO ftw, I tried the braid on a whim, and I love it, just TRY to talk me out of it, I dare you.

Clive
07-18-2009, 02:41 PM
Hey tom,

I picked up a Daiwa Megaforce for $60 USD and its really a solid starter reel. I took a friend fishing who had never used a baitcaster and he was casting like a champ in no time. I have my paired with a Shimano Simitar 6'6" MH rod. I'd also recommend the the Berkly Lightening rod.

With the Megaforce and lightening rode, you'll have a solid combo that will cost around $100.

Power Pro is your best option in my opinion. Keep in mind you are gonna get lots of tangles/birdsnest when you start out. While mono may be cheaper, you'll be cutting line regularly becuase it will stretch and kink alot while sorting out the nests. With Braided line you can often pull really hard and get the birdnests out. I have 30lb power pro on mine, and I would not advise going lower. The larger diameter line will be easier to work with.

http://www.fishingfury.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/daiwa-megaforce-reel.jpg

ctom
07-18-2009, 08:45 PM
Thanks Clive!

I'm a little apprehensive about getting the baitcasting reel still......tips for getting out of birds nests..?

Clive
07-19-2009, 10:55 AM